Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

6 Impossibles before breakfast October 13, 2010

Filed under: Movies — redeemingcarolyne @ 4:35 am

Last night, my oldest son wanted to spend some time with me, so he invited me to watch the newer version of Alice in Wonderland. Now, this would not be my pick of a movie to see, but I wanted to be with my Max so I agreed. I have to tell ya, halfway through I’m asking myself, “Is this ever going to be over?” I was not finding the movie entertaining to say the least. I actually started to think whoever made this movie is insane and very strange. Well,I stuck it out and didn’t share my disliking with my son and then the moment came. The defining moment that made it all worth while. In the end of the movie Alice is about to go into battle and she says to Mad Hatter, “Sometimes I believe as many as 6 impossible things before breakfast.” And Mad Hatter replies, “That is an excellent practice.” It is as if someone puts a microphone right in my ear and these words are the only thing in the world I can hear at that moment. They are loud and clear and my brain just reads them.
Absolutely beautiful! 6 impossible thoughts before you even have breakfast. I just love this! I don’t know about you, but I want to be like that. Dreaming the impossible and then go LIVE IT!

In an earlier scene between Mad Hatter and Alice, Mad Hatter asks, “Have I gone Mad?” and Alice replies, “Afraid so, your entirely bonkers. But, I’ll tell you a secret, only the best people are.” Alice had been told this by her father as a child when she too shared that she thought she was crazy, for having her dreams. I can certainly can relate to this. Am I crazy that a few lines in a movie can speak mountains to me? I will stick to the philosophy that only the best people are.

I can make a list of movies I’ve seen throughout this past year that all had defining moments for me. This is so cool! I never used to experience this before, but I do now and will continue to as long as I tenaciously seek out His will for my life.

So, Can you come up with 6 impossible things before breakfast? Just thinking of them will be exhilarating. Now, put on your armor and go after them! Alice did.

I posted this a few months ago at my Free Agent Academy School and these words still remain echoeing in my ears so I had to post it here too.  I don’t know how many times I have said to myself, “Carolyne, this is crazy.”  Then I hear, “Only the best ones are.” I really love it! As soon as I start feeling like what I am about to do is crazy, off the beaten path, or not normal I say, “Yes! This is right. Go for it.” I so admire her ability to dream fearlessly and then go out and seize it. I want to emulate that!

I shared with my Max a few weeks ago how much I got out of this movie and do you know what he said? “I’m crazy-he he.” “Only the best ones are-he he.” “I am sure you can tell that to your psychiatrist mom.” Gotta love my 17 year old’s perspective.

 

5 Responses to “6 Impossibles before breakfast”

  1. Teri Says:

    This is so inspiring!!!
    I definitely need to believe a few impossible things before breakfast. Yes! Starting tomorrow.
    For starters, I’m gonna start believing that I’m a morning person; that I can wake up to Nekoda’s early-morning-fussing to nurse with a sleepy smile & excitement for the day. Impossible, you say? I’m believing it anyway!!!!

  2. Nina Nelson Says:

    Yay I found your blog!! This was a great post. I need to start believing impossible things before breakfast, too. Like Teri said about being a morning person. 🙂 What really stuck out to me was “Only the best ones are.” I feel like that all the time, yet I can clearly see that the Lord has been leading me down this path. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Kim Says:

    Beautiful Carolyne!
    I love it —
    you know what is funny about this??
    My son started calling me a weirdo over a year ago and when I asked him why he does that–
    His reply “Because you are but all good Moms are weirdos!”
    LOL!!!! Ya just gotta love them–children can make us laugh, cry and melt in a matter of 1 minute!
    I watched the Disney movie Spirit recently —
    huge message in that animated movie!
    I had tears in my eyes and my son said “Mom, it isn’t real–it is animated!” : )

    God can use even a childrens movie to send a message —
    amazing!

  4. Kevin Miller Says:

    Excellent Carolyne! This…is great stuff. I’ll do it too. Might have to watch that movie, at least the end…

  5. Rebecca Mott Says:

    What an awesome post!

    I believe we do underestimate the power of imagination. We live in such a critical world; everything goes under the microscope and is subject to someone else’s opinion.

    Let’s free ourselves to think…or in my words “wander around wondering and discovering.”


Leave a Reply

