Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Hope-filled or Hopeless? November 8, 2010

Filed under: Learning to live — redeemingcarolyne @ 4:58 am

Hope as a noun is defined as the feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best. As a verb hope is to look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence ; to believe, desire, or trust.

Our relationship and acceptance of Christ is in one part based upon faith and the other part by His grace. Ephesians 2:8-9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God- not by works, so that no one can boast.                                                                                                                                                                   Hope is a result of faith, so if I have faith I will have hope.

Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

What a lovely explanation of faith.

I have learned that Satan’s most powerful attack on me is to try to steal away my hope. When he does this my faith starts to weaken and I start to become distant from Christ. I guess he knows what he’s doing because it works-unfortunately. I call this Satan’s suffocating pillow of hopelessness. In the midst of your despair it actually feels like he’s suffocating you and the gasping devastation of your circumstance has you searching for your next breath.

I don’t have the statistics, but my hypothesis is that hopelessness is at the core of most all suicides. I can’t believe a person wants to die, even in the most horrendous of circumstances, but I do believe that a person can lose the will to live. In that excruciating moment when Satan has their hope they start to believe that things will never change and always remain as horrible as they are right now. It paralyzes them from moving forward or even the thought of a solution.

So what does one do in the mist of this sadness, depression-hopelessness? Fall to your knees at His feet, pray, pray, pray, open your Bible, connect with a brother or sister in Christ, listen to  Christian music, & did I say pray and get into His word? Satan’s attacks are mighty and powerful, but God has already won and you can have victory too when you fight him through Jesus. You won’t win alone-trust me or you can find out for yourself the hard way.  I love this quote I heard by Stephen Curtis Chapman in the aftermath of his daughters tragic death-“This is what it looks like to live with broken, but very hope filled hearts.” I strive to have this hope-filled heart even in the midst of  unbearable struggles. We truly can, when all of our hope is centered in Christ.

I’d like to encourage you to look around, I mean really stop and pay attention to others, look not just at their face, but into their souls. There are so, so many hurting people and we are blissfully ignorant to them everyday.  Who can you pray with today? How can you show the world what a hope-filled heart of Christ looks like?

This is a fav from bluefishtv it speaks a beautiful truth.

http://www.bluefishtv.com/Store/Downloadable_Video_Illustrations/1617/A_Man_Fell_in_a_Hole__Lesson_Available_/f=s1&s=a%20man%20fell%20into%20a%20hole

 

One Response to “Hope-filled or Hopeless?”

  1. Teri Miller Says:

    There is a hope in me. Waiting to be conceived. I do not understand the fullness of it; what it might be. A child? A thing? A life? Felt God whisper to me again today, in the blue-sky-wind, “there’s a hope inside….” The creator is waiting patiently for me to do my part, for Kevin to do his part. I do not understand what all it means. But He is calling us to join Him in nurturing, growing, this new thing, this new hope of life, of something I know not. I’m confused, and aching-longing-sad, and yet full of hope. And He tells me, “even the rocks will multiply.” I have no idea. But there is a hope, still.
    http://freeagentmommy.typepad.com/blog/2010/11/hope-inside.html


Leave a Reply

