Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Unforgivable? November 30, 2010

Filed under: Movies — redeemingcarolyne @ 2:41 pm

Ever feel that some that someone or something that has happened is just so horrendous that it is unforgivable? Ever asked God why these unwarranted terrible things are happening in your life? Ever screamed to God, “I don’t deserve this?”

This past weekend I watched the movie Amish Grace two times. Let me tell ya, I am not the kinda girl who enjoys watching a movie a second time. I mean, I already know whats gonna happen, so what is the point? This one had so many points I don’t think I could absorb them all the first time. It was even richer the second time around.

It is one of the most beautiful examples of our human nature, trusting God in our worst of times, and God’s forgiveness.

Ida is a strong Amish Christian and faced with an unimaginable devastation. Her human nature finds the the crime against her family so erroneous that the perpetrator is unforgivable. Though the rest of her community has offered forgiveness she cries out to God-how He could let this happen to a beautiful child of hers. Ida’s husband gives a very true response to her, why God, question. He says, “I don’t know.”

We don’t always get to know the “why God?” while we’re here on earth. Some things we wait until we’re in heaven to get answers about. You can be assured that God is in control even when it doesn’t make sense and that His purposes are served in all situations.

2 Corinthians 4:8,9 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.

Her husband, Gideon, wonderfully illustrates hatred as an evil force with many teeth that will take up so much room in your heart, there will be none left for love. Stop and think for a moment. Is there anyone your feeling hatred for? Or even ticked off at? Ask yourself how good that makes you feel? It is so true, the more consumed we become with hatred the less we are able to love even those who have done nothing wrong to us.

There is a rich  scene in the cornfield where their Amish religious leader shares some amazing wisdom, “Forgiveness comes from an open heart and it comes without condition or it does not come at all.” What a wonderful explanation of forgiveness. An open heart-you have to be willing as it cannot be forced. Without condition-no expectation what so ever from the one you are forgiving. Anything less than that is not forgiveness.

Gideon, Ida’s husband, tries to shine God’s light on her anger as he said, “Faith, when everything is as you want it to be is not true faith. It is only when our lives are falling apart that we have the chance to make our faith real.” I can only imagine the disasters I would create if everything was I wanted it to be. I have come to learn that I don’t know what is best for me, but God does. I will choose to put my faith into what God wants my life to be.

God’s pure truth and beauty are abundantly overflowing throughout every moment of this movie. I could write on every word spoken. Knowing how to Forgive and understanding God is in control of our life even when there are excruciating struggles, is something that all Christians face. I cannot encourage you enough to take the time and watch this movie. I Pray, that God would open your heart, your soul, and your mind to take in everything this movie has to offer  you.

 

2 Responses to “Unforgivable?”

  1. Teri Miller Says:

    Carolyne – thank you, thank you. We will DEFINITELY check it out!! Special meaning for us too, with Kevin’s Amish heritage. Blessings – Teri

  2. What makes the movie more real is the tragedy was a actual event that occurred several years ago. I am more than happy to share anything I find of value with your family.
    Carolyne


Leave a Reply

