Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Walking Through The Valley January 10, 2011

Filed under: Learning to live — redeemingcarolyne @ 10:24 pm

I have a new understanding of why people either don’t change at all or start to change and then just give up and eventually resort back to their old negative and destructive way of life. The more you seek His righteousness and His purpose for your life you’ll discover that what you thought was “ugly” in your life is really “hideous”. If you think your current life is hard, painful, and or unbearable wait until you walk through the valley to get to the other side.

You see if we truly want to change, if we truly want to live of life in His glory then we have to remove and get rid of all the yuck we have collected over the years and then we take on His word, His righteousness, and His ways and we will LIVE in Christ. I don’t know about you, but I am starving to live an exceedingly extraordinary life in Christ and it is proving to be far more challenging and painful to achieve than I ever could have expected.

It is quite easy to say to yourself that you will work hard  and change, but it is a whole another thing to actually do it! In order to REMOVE all your yuck you have to get real, I mean really real, and you have to walk through every last bit of it.

Of all things it reminds me of a stained carpet. If you have carpet and a lot of kids you’ll understand. Poop, pee, juice, and puke it has all fallen on my carpet at some time or another. So, I clean it with Lysol or bleach and pat it dry, but no matter how much I try to clean it by covering it up with chemicals, deep down in some layer the yuck still remains and eventually it will surface. Our life is the same way if you don’t remove the yuck by  seeing it, walking through it, & letting it go then deep down it will wait for the right moment to reappear and devastate you. You want to get rid of the stain? Then tear out the carpet, throw it away, clean the subfloor, and then replace it with a surface impermeable to this yuck. I now have either tile or laminate flooring throughout my entire house and ya know what? When something gets on them I actually am able to clean it up and its gone, nothing sinks in.

If we are willing to walk through the valley of the shadow of death with every despicable ugly in our lives then He will be waiting for us on the other side. And if we take up His word and His ways then even though the spills will come they will not permeate us and we will actually be able to clean them up quickly and efficiently until the next spill comes.

 

Psalm 23

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He restores my soul He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the shadow of the valley of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me;Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.Your prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil;my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord        forever.

Walking through your valley can be terrifying, excruciatingly painful, lonely, dark, and seemingly never ending, but I know His promises to be true and if you walk through it in its entirety, your beautiful banquet table awaits you. Can’t you just see Him waiting there for you and saying, “I have been expecting you and the food is still warm.” He is so worth it! You’ll get His love, His goodness, and the privilege of dwelling in His house for eternity. I can confidently await my feast even in the midst of walking through my valley.

 

 

4 Responses to “Walking Through The Valley”

  1. Teri Miller Says:

    Sweet Carolyne – I feel the pain in your words…and also the hope, the expectation. I love the carpet-stain analogy. Makes me think of stained-carpets we had to rip out of our marriage. Spent too many years trying to scrub, spray, cover up, disguise with a rug. But it had to come out. Putrid stains, ripped away. Years of pain. Finally, underneath, we found a strong foundation.
    Thanks for speaking Truth and Hope.
    Teri

    • Thanks for getting the carpet thing. I figured I probably would gross someone out, but it made sense to me. Change is just so much stinkin harder than the world wants us to believe. A book, a seminar, or some efforts just aren’t gonna do it. It is going to hurt, it is going to hurt real bad, and then it is going to get better-if ya don’t quit!
      Thank you,
      Carolyne

  2. Charleen Says:

    What a wonderful writing…I really get it. I have some stains that I tried to clean, cover, and forget about. Thought I had it accomplished until God ripped the rug away and said “Deal with it!” It was tough, I was at the end of my rope, but that’s where God took over! Praises to our awesome God!

    • You don’t know what it means to hear you say, “you get it.” I think I am really stubborn so if I want a permenant change it really takes getting to the I can’t take it anymore, before I allow Him in. Yet, that is when His beauty just shines so much suffering so easily forgotten in His glory.
      Carolyne


Leave a Reply

