Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Yeah! Its Finally Being Built. February 9, 2011

Filed under: marriage — redeemingcarolyne @ 10:18 pm

It has literally taken me months to finally start creating and actually building the Marriage Wall. I was so excited at first and thought I had this great idea and it was so gonna help me, and then, and then….. the first ugly that hit and I abandoned the whole idea.

Last month, I met with my Stephen Minister and I asked her, “what can I do in those moments of total despair? When I just can’t comprehend and the pain is insurmountable?” Do you know what she told me? She said, “You need to go straight to God, straight to your bible.” Amen, sometimes I can keep my mouth shut because honestly my only thoughts were, “Really? That’s all ya got for me? I mean there must be something more spectacular than that?”

Needless to say I am a little disappointed in my first reaction.  It is a very human reaction.

Ya know what? She was exactly right! This reaffirmed the purpose of the Marriage Wall. We definitely need sisters in Christ to walk with us on our journey, but whether severe or minor it all needs to be brought to the Father first. He is the ultimate healer and it is ONLY through Him that sisters in Christ can help you.

My marriage has been encompassed by a membrane of death since its creation and I intend on finally, finally, did I say FINALLY?~ breaking free from this never-ending source of destruction.

So, I still haven’t told you what this thing really is.  I have found pictures that represent a loving image between Papa and I, then blew them up  and posted them on my wall. You’ll notice the Cross that illuminates Jesus is at the top center. Between the pictures I will put verses, movie titles, an encouraging quotes, speakers, books, & whatever else I find that will help build-up and strengthen my marriage.

I have started with Genesis 2:24 For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh. And Ecclesiastes 4:12 Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

The verses are there ya just can't see them good in the picture

This will be a work in progress that I will continually be adding to and growing as He grows me. Ok, so it is nice to look at, but what do ya do with it? The Marriage Wall serves not just as a nice daily visual reminder, but as something much more powerful. Here I will come in my moments of despair, hurt, anger, praise, & prayer. It will be here that I lay all of that down & ALL hurt and suffering will be left. I’m going straight to the source! Truly, the ONLY source that can give me the strength to do what He commands of me.

I am not into kick-boxing or any kind of physical harm to another person, but with this post, with this Marriage Wall, its as if I just nailed Satan in the head with a sweet kick-boxing move, and I’m feelin a little accomplished about it.

I challenge you this day to look your husband in the eyes and tell him, not from your lips, but from your soul how much you love him. Then, kiss your love this day, as you have never kissed him before. Ok, that is were my part ends the rest is up to you!

 

8 Responses to “Yeah! Its Finally Being Built.”

  1. Chuck Bowen Says:

    I’ll be praying your husband joins you in the battle of your lives. Usually helps to gang up on Satan ….

    Much love, blessings and encouragement!

    • That sounds like a lovely prayer and I absolutely agree! You reminded me of Matthew12:24-25 a household divided WILL NOT STAND! The evil one knows right where a weak spot is and that is exactly where he will attack.
      May God enrich the bond between you and Lori,
      Carolyne

  2. This is a great idea! It looks like you have some powerful kung-fu going on.

    Keep kicking!

    James

    • Yeah, I have been hangin out with Billy Blanks in his Tae Bo videos lately, so apparently I think I can kick. Thank you for responding and I think God has a message in this. I debated whether to address my ending paragraph just to women or both men and women? I didn’t pray about it I just answered for myself saying, “It is really mostly only women who read my blog.” The first 3 people I heard from about this blog were all men!!!!
      Don’t I always know best?
      Carolyne

  3. Teri Miller Says:

    This is so AWESOME. Something we ALL need to do…regardless the condition of our marriages…to nurture our love-commitment along. Okay, I’m inspired. Hmmm. Not sure what I’ll come up with, but need to do something similar. Maybe I’ll get some more ideas at the marriage conference this weekend!
    Blessings on ya, friend!
    Teri @ StumblingAroundInTheLight.com

    • Just start with looking back through old photos of you two and find the pictures that make you feel the love between you. Once you find them you could scan each one into your computer so you have a file and don’t have to go back and find them again. Then pray, pray some more, and keep praying until He leads you. Can’t wait to see our blogs after the marriage event!
      Thank you for your inspiration!
      Carolyne

  4. melodie Says:

    Your words are energizing, Carolyne – They remind me to stay alert and in fighting stance right here in my home even though things look good right now since the Enemy would like to get a foothold in each of our marriages .
    And thanks to your last paragraph, my husband was able to enjoy the post, too!

    • It takes effort and constant deposits. He(Satan) will find any way he can to get in. Sometimes we can get too comfy cozy and let down our guard. Amen to you for putting forth the effort! I just love you last statement~that is so great! I am looking forward to another update on “the move” from you.
      Blessings and strength for you both,
      Carolyne


Leave a Reply

