Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

How Far Have We Really Come? February 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — redeemingcarolyne @ 11:59 pm

I tried, I really tried….to just give a quote and a few short thoughts on it.  I can’t, I really can’t……as He opens my heart it just pours out.

I have been teaching my children some American history over the past few months and I am starting to wonder who is learning more them or me?

As we are studying the foundation of this country and its people I am starting to ponder that though we have made many vast advances since then, we also have lost sight of some really important things. I may have my great house, great car, great electronic devices, or all the food one can imagine, but what about family, marriage, time, God, and the priorities and perspective of a worthy life?

I am coming to believe that the Pilgrims, first settlers, and our Founding Fathers knew far more about what matters in life, than sadly some of us may ever know in our time here.

Childless, religious differences-she a Quaker & he Episcopalian, and a 17 year age difference-he the older, are some of the challenges that James Madison, also known as the Father of the Constitution and our 4th President, and his wife Dolley faced.

Yet in-spite of those  struggles they had a successful, happy marriage. Dolley was quoted as saying, “Our hearts understand each other.” These 5 seemingly simple words are so profound.

I am quite accomplished at understanding what my heart wants, desires, & needs, but what do I know of my husband’s heart? For the greater part of this marriage I knew next nothing of his heart, my focus was my heart, my needs, and felt justified with that.

To become one flesh and yet remain a ignorant to the other’s heart and soul is to remain nothing more than conjoined strangers. To join as one with your hearts and souls is the one of the deepest levels of intimacy one can achieve.

To understand each other on this level is a beautiful reflection of the One who loves and understands every part of me.

Psalm 33:15 He who forms the hearts of all, who considers everything they do.

He is alive and dwelling within my heart and the deeper that love grows the more I am able to understand Him.

How well do you understand your spouses heart?

 

4 Responses to “How Far Have We Really Come?”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Oh, Carolyne, this was one of the topics of discussion between the Lord and me in our quiet time together, just this past Friday! I am so intent on knowing God’s heart, and yet it suddenly dawned on me that I don’t know my own husband’s heart very well. I do, in some respects, but not like I should. So thank you for writing so eloquently what has been on my heart and mind. You are such a blessing. I am thankful for you!

    • Don’t ya love when He gives you just what you need at just the right moment and when you least expect it? Your kind words make all this worth while and why I am reminded to keep pressing in and pouring out in His name. I will be praying for your marriage.
      Carolyne

  2. Teri Miller Says:

    Okay, the hard thing I’ve realized lately…is that I’m afraid to press in and know hearts. It’s easier to just please people, y’know? Just “make” their hearts happy, “make” them like you, “make” yourself into what they want. Then you don’t really have to press into heart issues…you just listen & learn & perform accordingly.

    Do I need therapy for this? Definitely! The bummer is I’ve BEEN in therapy for this before. And HERE I am aGAIN. But that’s okay. I’m sure there are great Christian counselors in Colorado too. And this time around, maybe I’m a teeny bit closer to hearing from the Almighty Counselor too.

    Thanks for bein’ just another piece of the puzzle, Carolyne. –Teri

    • The Teri you are describing is not the Teri who has been honest, loving, and true to me. She wasn’t afraid to get into my heart or share hers! She had no hesitations about sharing Christ’s love. I also will pray for the Almighty Counselor for you as I am one of His frequent patients, He can do wonders!
      Love ya,
      Carolyne


Leave a Reply

