Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Who Comes First? February 23, 2011

Filed under: marriage — redeemingcarolyne @ 3:06 am

Want to have a successful marriage?   God COMES first in your life and in your marriage. There ya go, that pretty much sums it all up. Yeah, like I could ever hush up that quickly!

I recently had someone share the image of a triangle with God at the top and you and your spouse at each of the ends. I like to think of a braid, that my marriage is braided in God. Three distinct separate pieces woven together to form one complete and intricate whole. Creating a strength and endurance that I could not be on my own. Together we are inseparable and unbreakable.

I had chosen some time ago to start living out my life with God at the forefront and now I am choosing to put God first in my marriage.

I don’t know how well you can see it in this picture, but it is quite symbolic of what God is doing right now.  These roses are the result of a very bad December birthday, and though you might say I should have been grateful for them, I was not. They represented some very ugly issues that were going on and honestly I didn’t even want to look at them. After a few weeks had passed and God began the slow process of my heart transplant my daughter said to me one day, “Look Mom, they are dead but there is something new growing.” She was right, there was a bright green new growth growing right off the stem of the dead rose~so representing what is going on here right now! God is so good I can learn from looking at a dead rose.

If you don’t hear anything else I say please hear this. I have chosen to put God first in my marriage not because suddenly my husband has turned into prince charming and gallantly swoops me off my feet daily. No, it is actually the complete opposite, he hasn’t changed at all~yet!

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Can you imagine if He waited until we were worthy or good enough for Him to die for us? I guess He would still be waiting.  I cannot imagine a greater act of love, God willingly gives up His one and only Son for wicked sinners.

I tried, but I couldn’t find the Bible passage that says wait until your husband starts walking a righteous path and then you can start being a “good & righteous” wife. I am called as a woman of God to be a Godly wife right here, right now, and no matter what my circumstance!!!!!

There are a lot of challenges and circumstances that I wish I didn’t have to deal with that are thrown my way in this marriage. It is time to stop using somebody else’s unGodly behavior to excuse my own. The question is: When these inevitable fiery balls are thrown at me, what am I gonna do about it? Am I going to continue the let them burn and hurt me or am I going to choose to face them with God? Maybe I could duck, or get out of the firing range, or stop tryin to catch them all together?

Here is something I read in the book I received from The Art of Marriage event:I have no way of knowing whether or not you married the wrong person, but I do know that many people have a lot of wrong ideas about marriage and what it takes to make that marriage happy & successful. I’ll be the first to admit that it’s possible that you did marry the wrong person. However, if you treat the wrong person like the right person, you could well end up having married the right person after all. On the other hand, if you marry the right person, and treat that person wrong, you certainly will have ended up marrying the wrong person. I also know that it is far more important to be the right kind of person than it is to marry the right person. In short, whether you married the right or wrong person is primarily up to you.”                    ~Zig Ziglar    Courtship After Marriage

Alright, everything Zig said up there, that is exactly what I am living out in my marriage right now! I anxiously await to reap the sweet fruit that is yet to come out of this decision.

So, my challenge to you is this, if you want to have that amazing spouse put God first in your marriage and then stop waiting and start being their amazing spouse.

 

2 Responses to “Who Comes First?”

  1. Teri Miller Says:

    This is really incredible, Carolyne. Can’t think of anything else more valuable from the ‘Art of Marriage’ conference; you pretty much summed it up.
    No matter the circumstances, no matter the marital situation, no matter what…I am called to BE ‘their amazing spouse.’

    Thanks for pointing us to truth.
    love & hugs – Teri

    • Still waitin for our Art of Marriage pow wow! I am so grateful that He has helped me clear so much junk out of the way so I can clearly hear Him. Now, that I understand the hard part and trueness of my faith will be living this out each and every day. He is blessing you and your marriage also as you hear Him and “get it”.
      Can’t wait to talk to ya,
      Carolyne


Leave a Reply

