Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

The greatest compliment March 21, 2011

Filed under: Finding yourself in Christ — redeemingcarolyne @ 3:52 am

Oh, you are sooo beautiful

I wish I was as skinny as you

Your house is gorgeous

Congratulations on all your success, look at all these wonderful things

A new car…..and 2011, nice

I love your clothes

Haven’t we received or wanted to receive at least a few of these compliments before? Surely, they are not bad in and of themselves, but the weight they carry I ask you to question.  Would one of these compliments be your end all and be all of the day? Would you feel you now have worth  and importance? Would you start to feel that you are better then…..?

If you answered yes to any of the above I would encourage you to dig deeper into His word and learn what He says is most important. When you find His truth, make that your IT and cling to it for dear life.

Luke 10:27 He answered, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Not to long ago, I was told my a fellow Sister in Christ from my Bible study that she thoroughly enjoyed reading the prayer requests I put out for our group. She said, “They sound like the come straight from your heart.” I replied, “They do!”

It took some time to process this, but now I can see that this is one of greatest ways I could be commended. I hold dear to her words and will treasure them to keep growing in His light so it can extend out from within.

Do the compliments you receive radiate His glory or yours?

 

One Response to “The greatest compliment”

  1. Carolyne, this cuts deep & true. Too often I long for words that praise me, my outward self, my performance. Yuck.
    Thanks for the reminder.
    Bless you, dear woman.
    Teri


Leave a Reply

