Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Reflections of Who? March 26, 2011

Filed under: Finding yourself in Christ — redeemingcarolyne @ 3:56 pm

I was watching one of the Skit Guys videos http://skitguys.com/videos/item/gods-chisel/ the other day with my kiddos and amongst the laughter & entertainment His quiet, still voice shouted out to me repeatedly.

I learned something new I can use that will hopefully curb a continual problem I have with my older kiddos. Though I have faithfully always taught my kids NOT say, “Oh my ….” the world continues to tell them otherwise and has tried to throw a wedge in this area of our Faith. Honestly I cringe, I want to shake my head and say, “Do you not know who He is? If so how can you lack such reverence?” when I hear Christians and non-Christians alike use the Lords name in vein. Well, now instead of feeling so frustrated with my sons, I am simply going to reply, “His name is above all names.” A gentle reminder that my child is ultimately obligated to God, not to me.

Have you ever gotten to the place were you are willing to say, “God do what ever it takes?” And then how long did it take you before you were saying, “ugh rrrrr, this is so stinkin hard! Ok, maybe I don’t want to do this? Maybe I can’t?”

It is an amazing feat to finally submit our mind, body, and soul to Him, but remaining there is a whole another journey. Why? At times it hurts, it’s really really hard, it doesn’t reap immediate results, it is not self-serving. But God, I want to do your good and reap my blessing now now now!

When you look in the mirror who do you see? WOW, this one is huge for me. It is our ultimate goal to be like that mirror and be reflecting His image, not our own, for ourselves and the world to see. Generally I don’t look in the mirror, I seem to only find whats wrong and not what is right. What if I just went to the mirror and looked on asking myself, “Do I see Him? Is He in there somewhere? Show me God, show me where you are alive and dwelling inside this woman.” Then just sit and wait in the calm, in the silence until He answers me, until He shows me, until I see Him.

Ephesians 1: 13-14 And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in Him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession-to the praise of His glory.

I actually belong to Him, and solely to Him.

Just like Zig Ziglar says, “God don’t make no junk!”

Will you take a moment today to go to the mirror….. and search….. and seek Him out in the image you see. Be patient and be still and listen with your heart to what He has to reveal to you.

 

2 Responses to “Reflections of Who?”

  1. Am sitting here weeping. The video/skit was meaningful…but even more so, your words, your pictures here.
    The picture of your husband makes me cry and cry and cry. So. Beautiful. Can you see it, Carolyne? Can you see the carpenter in him? The gift, the strength, the truth, down under all the burdens of this world? Can you see the vision of Christ in him, holding a child with such tenderness, such focused intent, such power, and yet so lightly…so lightly, as that child must someday choose to remain in that embrace or shift away, squirm down, stumble along in his own path.
    I see it. I see in that photo a reflection of Christ, so subtle, and yet so resoundingly obvious. I see in that photo the gift of who that man is, the spirit of His savior, glimmering out, someday to shine with glory.
    I believe it, Carolyne. My spirit is bursting with the revelation of it.
    In His time.
    Trust it, believe it, expect it!
    With love, hope, and prayers – Teri

    • Oh my, the beautiful poetry of your words. It is He who abundantly flows from your keyboard. Thank you, thank you so much for seeing……for understanding in His time… now that is resounding truth. My God grant me the patience because I don’t have it! You don’t know how much God is speaking through you right now! It was that very picture that ignited me to write My Love Letter.
      Your reaffirmation of the truth is so precious and meaningful.
      Lots of love your way,
      Carolyne


Leave a Reply

