Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Sisterhood, Can You Live Without It? March 31, 2011

Filed under: Journey to the Core — redeemingcarolyne @ 4:52 am

The sweet comfort of a sister in Christ… how precious it is. God-given, delicate, & gentle touch, He gave that to us so that we can give it to others.

So often it is only thought of in the context of mother to child, and yet we as women are invaluable for each other.

Ya don't have to be my baby to get my love

 

I know, I have been blessed by this……He has blessed me with all the wondrous riches to be found in Holy friend who illuminates God’s own heart.

One of the most valuable things I have ever received from a Sister in Christ was the commitment to pray for me for as long as it takes……..Did you hear that?    As long as it takes! What could you buy me that is better than that?         In John 17 Jesus prays for Himself, Jesus prays for His disciples, Jesus prays for all believers. Think he’s trying to tell us something?

 

 

So what does it look like to have a sister in Christ?

In the midst of total despair, pain so intense I could com-bust, believing I was all alone in a world of 7 billion, and finally ready to admit I can’t handle all this on my own. What do I do Lord? Who can I turn to? Who will listen? Though time and space separated us I saw His light coming forth from her. One humbling phone call and a landfill was dumped at the foot of my sweet Nicole. Within 2 hours I am being met a restaurant by not just her, but 2 Sisters in Christ. I was able to let out all I had arrogantly held in for soooo long, I was prayed for~yes right there in the restaurant, I was given a book, and I told I needed to get to Hearts at Home.  http://www.hearts-at-home.org/ Thanks to all the prayers and dedication of a Sister in Christ not only was the way paved for me to get to the conference once, but twice! This was the start of my new, deep, and ever intense journey with Christ. I thought I new Him all those years, never like this.  I have a Lord who not only is alive, but He dwells permanently in my heart and soul.

And in turn as I am built up, as I am nurtured,as I am loved, & as I grow it is my duty to God to then go out and lift up those He puts in my path.

Am I equip, am I enough, will I be received? Yet all He softly says is, “Go….go…….that’s right, keep going….I am right here and you are standing on your own two feet.”

Through your pure, whole, & revealing heart that His light shall come forth. Don’t hold back, don’t keep Him in, with His confidence give us your all in its most real unfiltered form. From that…..you have the opportunity….to be used by God to assist in changing someone’s life.

Luke 11:33 “No one lights a lamp and puts it in a place where it will be hidden, or under a bowl. Instead he puts it on its stand, so that those who come in may see the light.”

I just read about an amazing opportunity that could not have come at a more perfect time~God does that doesn’t He?

When I read step one to the She Speaks Scholarship, Just write a blog that connects the readers heart to the heart of God, I actually said to myself, “Well can I just post  links to everyone of my blogs?” Ya see, I have nothing to say, I tried on my own and nothing came out, it is ONLY through the Holy Spirit that I have the inspiration to write at all.

Check this conference opportunity out. If you are a woman you can’t not be blessed by it! Can you imagine what it would be like to be in the presence of women choosing to be exceedingly excellent through Christ?                                          http://shespeaksconference.com/

Of course, I would not have learned any of this info out if I didn’t read Ann Voskamp’s blog.  http://www.aholyexperience.com/ So lovely to watch a woman allow herself to be used by Christ! So many blessings yet to reap!

 

3 Responses to “Sisterhood, Can You Live Without It?”

  1. So.
    Humbled.
    Deeply grateful to be a part of your journey. And yes, will pray, and pray, and pray, with hope and EXPECTATION…for as long as it takes.
    Always believing for you, even when you can’t find the hope.
    love & hugs –
    Teri

  2. lena Says:

    I am so thankful for you. Sisters in Christ. It isn’t always easy, but it is nice
    to have each other. Some come and stay in your life for years, others for a short time.
    some are led to serve away from you. Relationships are so complex. It takes nurturing, and listening as well as talking. With joy we also feel each others pain. The best gift we can give one another is to lift each up to
    the Lord. Not one is perfect, only Jesus is perfect. He is our high priest. He knows what we need. I am so proud of you, and what you share. It is truly inspiring and uplifting. Girlfriends are special, and I am thankful for you. Lena

    • I still remember being that 24 year old mama of three, new to Elburn, didn’t know anyone, and who be-friends me? YOU did! All these years later and you are still a shining light in my life!

      Thank you, my friend, thank you
      Carolyne


Leave a Reply

