Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Me First….Oh oh Me First! July 26, 2011

Filed under: Finding yourself in Christ — redeemingcarolyne @ 3:12 pm

I had the priviledge of going to The Ladies Tea http://www.providencepeoria.org/2011/03/22/the-2011-ladies-tea/ with an amazing sister in Christ Miss Sandy Yu.  There were delightfully decorated tables, wholesome food, opportunity to fellowship…….and the awe-inspiring content~the speakers!

What could add to an already honoring day?  Some intense fellowship and deepening with my sweet guest Sandy, and a wonderful dinner at Denhart Restaurant located inside the Cornerstone Inn http://cornerstoneinnbnb.com/Index.asp. Here I got to awaken my taste buds with grilled salmon covered in Bearnaise sauce for the very first time and don’t forget the homemade peach pie….and she actually had to ask if I wanted it a la mode!  It didn’t end there, we stayed the night in a hotel and the next day got the FULL experience of Providence church  http://www.providencepeoria.org/.  So much heart and depth on that one that I have to save it for the next blog!

 Ok, so I see these great role models and hear these incredible messages, and I am all pumped up and filled to go out and live-out all that I just heard!  But……how do I do that?  How do I keep from returning home and in the first 5 seconds have everything I just filled my head with keep from evaporating from my existence?

Well, first I think I just stated the problem filled my head with. God doesn’t work in us because we fill our heads with Him.  I have to fill my heart…my soul.and my head with all that He is revealing to me.  I have to go back to my notes and ask Him to speak to me, show me what to do next……and then I HAVE TO DO IT, LIVE IT, & BE IT!  I don’t want this to be a day of inspiration that leads to a tomorrow of despair!!!!!!!

 I read over the words of wisdom from the strength of Stacey McDonald http://yoursacredcalling.com/blog/, the young pureness of her daughter Tiffany Hector,  the quite funny and real  Hope Ware, and the tender, genuine beauty of Miss Becky Morecraft  http://becky-gracenotes.blogspot.com/.

 Many things have spoken to me this weekend, a written list to address, but none so clear as this; God wants to be FIRST in my life!

Psalm 73:26  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

I HAVE TO say EVERY SINGLE MORNING I surrender in Your grace Lord, I ask you to become first in my day.

I need Him to come first and to be first in my daily life.  Now, I know this….I have heard this many many times, yet……I stray, I fall away and start letting everything else squeeze its way in and He begins to appear further and further away.

This is a daily act of the will and if I don’t do it DAILY…..I simply am NOT gonna make it. I know, I can say this because I have and am living that life of despair. Ya know when everything goes a-rye though you think you’re doin it right.

When was the last time you went away on a retreat for a weekend, or even for a day?  Is He placing it on your heart?  Do you have that nudge from Above? Go….go….do whatever it takes, yeah even though you have the responsibility to your husband and children.  You will be doing them a favor because God will be molding you into a better wife and mother because ya went! I challenge you that the outcome will be well worth the sacrifice.

 

2 Responses to “Me First….Oh oh Me First!”

  1. WHAT a treat!!! And all without the kids along…?

    I’m reading Ann Voskamp’s book, “One Thousand Gifts” again; this time out loud to the children. Was so impacted this morning (chapter 3) with how she talks about the PRACTICE of gratitude. That anything I want to change in me has to be learned, practiced, hammered in… I can’t just wish to be a runner – I have to actually go hit the trails and RUN. And run, and run, and run some more. I have to run thru the sore muscles and the blisters and the pain of growing new strength. After weeks, months, years maybe…I’ll be out on the trail, relishing the blue sky…and I’ll realize, “I’m a runner!”

    Sometimes the change is so slow, so imperceptible, we lose heart.
    Practice, practice, practice. Run the race. Don’t grow weary in well doing.

    You ARE different than you used to be…

  2. Yeah… I like the thought of hamming new nails in to hammer the old ones out! Have you checked out the videos you can watch along with each chapter? http://www.incourage.me/bloom-past-selections

    Need to buy the book, I was burrowing from the library and used up my time.

    Amen that you are reading it to your kiddos!
    Carolyne


Leave a Reply

