Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Watch out Disney World ya got Some Competition! August 10, 2011

Filed under: Family — redeemingcarolyne @ 3:06 am

My second oldest son, Antonio and I shared the 14 hours of driving straight through the night. We arrived at Natural Chimney’s Park in Virginia in a semi-conscience state about mid-morning. The sun was beaming, the kiddos eager to get their cooped up wiggles out, and there……there was our self-chosen spot.  The perfect spot with no one else around surrounded by woods and under the cover of a tree(not like it is goin rain on us or anything).

And sometimes I can just feel God looking down at me saying with a smile, “This is what you wanted, remember?”

Needless to say, the spot I chose was in  a dip, a bowl shape, if you will……sooooo, what happens when it NOT just rains but torrential down pours?  Why your tent will be floating in a God made lake right there on your campsite!!!!!

Though feeling the crushing effects of my predicament I thought I handled it pretty well. The sun did eventually return, we hung the tent out to dry, and moved to a new spot……it worked…..eventually!

Here are three of my kiddos having a blast running across the stacked up tables!

Have you ever had that longing in your heart that you will be endlessly blessing your family if you one day take them to……Disney World?  Do you have the irking desire to stand in line for 4 hours while your kids are miserable, whining, and pulling on your leg sayin, “I want to go hoooooommmme!”? If you are really lucky they may even pee their pants with just enough of a splash that it hits your toes.

Or how about spending like $20 on ONE burger(one gross burger made from who knows what) and why of course $20 more dollars for a nice high fructose corn syrup Coke! Now times that by how many people are in your family and that will be your brief, and most unhealthy edible food like lunch.  If you are NOT having fun yet……maybe just maybe one of your cute little kiddos will wander off amoungst the millions of other people there and you will have a panic attack thinking your child is gone forever.

OR…….

How bout the thrill of starting your morning with the search for dry wood and getting a fire goin? You sit around together, cook breakfast over your campfire, & you actually talk to each other!

One of the best times we had was exploring the almost dried up river. Catching a crayfish, making friends with minnows(who usually didn’t make it out of our hands alive), and spotting some good sized trout, so the hunt to seize one was on!

                                                                             Can’t forget about the tadpole with legs!

How can an imaginative child’s mind NOT want to go explore the Chimneys!

Just wouldn’t be camping without the ooey gooey s’mores.

                                                                 Wouldn’t you want to hold a butterfly?

A hike at sunset……blissfully beautiful!   OK….on this one they tried to freak me out.  My kiddos heard some dogs barking and started talking about that maybe there were wolves around, so then the thought of bears, and mountain lions……and with darkness approaching my pace picked up to full speed to get down the mountain and out of the forest.  I think I will stick to daytime hikes~thank you!

This Disney World kinda thing might be for you and if it is go for it!  As for me and my family, hands down God’s creations always wins!  It is always more peaceful, more fulfilling, more freedom, and totally FREE for ALL ages!!!!!!!!  Yes, I have attempted these stereotypical activities with my family and EVERY time I end up saying, “Why did I waste our $ on that we would have had so much MORE fun just exploring in a creek!”

Genesis 1:29-30      And God said, “See, I have given you every herb that yields seed which is on the face of all the earth, and every tree whose fruit yields seed; to you it shall be for food.  Also, to every beast of the earth, to every bird of the air, and to everything that creeps on the earth, in which there is life, I have given every green herb for food”; and it was so.

He really did give us an absolutely magnificent place to live out our lives on….didn’t He.

 

4 Responses to “Watch out Disney World ya got Some Competition!”

  1. The Miller fam sends you a resounding, “Amen, Sister!!”
    Love it!!!
    Can’t wait for you to be in our neck a’ the woods!

    • This is too funny….the very day I wrote this one my mama, out of the blue, asked if she can take my daughter to Disney World! I am so not kidding and this is so Unexpected!
      SO…..what is God trying to tell me with that one?
      It seemed to far away…..but it IS so soooon! NEED to officially plan so then, all my plans can get thrown out the window..
      Carolyne

  2. Lena Lamore Says:

    How wonderful!!
    You are a trooper, and are blessed because of it. I love your pictures.
    Love ya, Lena


Leave a Reply

