Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

God in the Center of the UnGodly, part 3 October 10, 2011

Filed under: marriage — redeemingcarolyne @ 1:46 pm

1 Corinthians 13; 1-3    If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.  If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.  If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love,    I gain nothing.

His words speak softly and resound like thunder.

Can you see the powerful conviction in this verse?????  List after list of good things, commendable things, Godly things……yet, all missing one key ingredient LOVE.  So what do I become when I do great things without a whole Christ-like heart?  I am like a gong or a cymbal…can you just hear that resounding in the background right now?  Who enjoys hearing that!  It also says that I AM nothing…..I GAIN nothing……NOTHING all without LOVE.

Could this be it…..could this be my prescription for what TO DO and my diagnosis for why what I have been doing has failed?

So, really….I CAN’T do all my good wife stuff and then want to push my husband off the edge of a cliff! I CAN’T do all my good wife stuff and then wish him for dead!  Yeah….I am guilty of both of those and much more.

But God….it is NOT fair…..I am only acting this way because of his unjust treatment…because of his unjust words…..I DON’T DESERVE IT!!!!!  I DON’T know HOW to handle it.

Do I deserve or have I asked for many of the excruciating circumstances that I daily have to fight my way through?  Absolutely NOT!  Did Christ deserve to die a heinous death on the Cross for the forgiveness of my sins?  Absolutely NOT!  Yet….He did!  He loved us so much He was willing to take on the wrath of God for ALL the sins of humanity.

1 John 4:9-11      This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him.  This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

I am NOT being called to be humiliated, whipped, scourged, stabbed, utterly tortured, and then nailed to a Cross….I am mearly being called by the Holy Spirit to love my husband NO matter what.

So I have been reading this amazing little book called 1 + 1 = one by Ken de Koning.     http://www.1plus1equalsone.com/

Chapter after chapter each and every morning, short, right to the point, very helpful, and faith based messages.

I have personalized a message from Ken’s book that I NEED to lift up about a hundred times a day to keep me on this path and remind me WHY I am doing all this:

It is NO longer about me, but about US.  The better I model Christlikeness to Papa, the better it is going to be for us.  And the better it is for US, the better is will be for ME.

Can’t you see the symbolism in dying to self and a life in Christ here?  Die to myself, live for another through Christ, and in the end I WILL reap His reward.

Romans 6:8   Now if we died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him.

How am I going to show Christlikeness to Papa…even when he doesn’t deserve it?   In part 4 I will share some of the real, tangible ways that God is showing me to live out each and every day.

There is ONLY one way to show Christlikeness to another……through the love of Christ!

 

6 Responses to “God in the Center of the UnGodly, part 3”

  1. Lena Lamore Says:

    What a blessing you are. God is mighty in strength and all powerful. It is all about God recieving the Glory. It is hard to die to self, but with God it is possible. Keep going , keep fighting. I love ya, Lena

  2. Such a powerful message. Truth. Clarity. Transparent struggle.
    You are an enormous blessing.

  3. My sweet sister,

    How beautiful are the words that God continues to bring you through His amazing love and provision. I had once heard a Bible student share a little more insight into 1 Corinthians 13:1-3. What I had not known was that back when this was written a gong was at times used by some to call evil spirits. What a HUGE awakening to also realize that when we choose not to love we are in most cases calling evil to us. Letting the Devil get his ugly foot in the door of our realtionships, lives, and ministry to Him. I know we are both on the same page and we want nothing to do with the enemy or his schemes so we choose instead to cover all offenses with His love and be continuously reminded of what He has forgiven us of… so we can be just as quick to forgive others (Ephesians 4:32 :o). I love you!!! See you soon!!!


Leave a Reply

