Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Celebrating His day? December 24, 2011

Filed under: Finding yourself in Christ — redeemingcarolyne @ 5:39 am

I know we can start out by saying we’re not gonna get all caught up in a “worldly celebration” of Christmas, yet even with the best of intentions we slowly allow ourselves to be sucked in. 

It is my hope that if this is were you are at that I can shine the light on were you might want to be instead.  This is my hands down FAVORITE Christmas song.  Last year someone had it posted on youtube with beautifully fitting scenes from the movie The Nativity Story.  http://www.christiancinema.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1680

By the way, if you haven’t seen that movie yet it is well worth your time!  Sadly I cannot find the youtube video anymore soooooooooooooooo……….I have put some images with the lyrics so that you could look at them while you listen to song.  The words are truly profound and I pray you will take them exactly as they are intended.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsPFNY4Z5t0

Reliant K      I Celebrate the Day

And with this Christmas wish is missed
The point I could convey
If only I could find the words to say to let You know how much You’ve touched my life
Because here is where You’re finding me, in the exact same place as New Year’s eve
And from a lack of my persistency
We’re less than half as close as I want to be
And the first time
That You opened Your eyes did You realize that You would be my Savior
And the first breath that left Your lips
Did You know that it would change this world forever

And so this Christmas I’ll compare the things I felt in prior years
To what this midnight made so clear
That You have come to meet me here

To look back and think that
This baby would one day save me
In the hope that what You did
That you were born so I might [ really ]live
To look back and think that
This baby would one day save me

And I, I celebrate the day
That You were born to die
So I could one day pray for You to save my life.

Look at that picture…….NO don’t glance….look at it and really see it, see the undeniable grace.  A baby……an innocent precious baby.  Have you ever had a child?  Or maybe right now you are tending to a little precious one of your own?   And I celebrate the day that you were born to die so I could one day pray for you to save my life.  Can you even begin to fathom looking down on your own child and saying you were born……born with ONE purpose……to die for ALL of mankind.

A perfect God with a perfect plan that ONLY His chosen people would perfectly obey.

Celebrate….Celebrate December 25 in honor, absolute honor of an awe-inspiring birth that still holds its same power to change a life forever.

With ALL of my heart I wish you a very Merry Christmas

 

5 Responses to “Celebrating His day?”

  1. I love you! Thank you for sharing your beautiful words. Oh that we can get to a place of total submission to our Lord and King, that we would freely give all we have to experience all He has in store for us. We can not begin to grasp what all our Great and Sovereign God has planned until we find joy in following Him and His Word, NO MATTER THE COST. HE IS WORTH IT!!! And one day before Him as we evaluate our lives may our Lord see a life lived for Him and Him alone. For He alone is WORTHY of our praise! He alone is who we must give account! May His birth, death, and resurrection be seen in us as we seek to shine His light in this darkened world (John 8:12) and may our God be praised (Matthew 5:14-16)

    • Really, can these words be any more perfect! I am completely consumed by them and I long for everyone else to be also. How different would it be if one could just see it and know it in their heart? NO MATTER THE COST, those are powerful words!
      Carolyne

  2. What a beautiful heart you have…
    Yes, I got WAY too sucked into busyness & stuff this Christmas.
    Taking some time now…to focus on my Savior.
    Such a gift.

  3. You both bless me so! Let us hold one another accountable to be intimate with our Lord, eyes focused on Him and His Words, waiting patiently for our King of Kings and Lord of Lords. “Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion. For the LORD is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!” Love to you both, my precious sisters in Christ~ xO


Leave a Reply

