Redeemingcarolyne's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Snakes, you are joking right? January 6, 2013

Filed under: Family — redeemingcarolyne @ 4:20 am

At age 14 when my son Sam said he wanted a snake I was sure this was an interest that would pass WITHOUT actually getting a REAL snake!

So, I agree to take him to this animal expo http://allanimalexpo.com/ Sure we will simply LOOK at all the nice snakey snakies, it is not like I actually am going to buy him one!

God truly knows just what ya need and precisely when you need it.  Matthew 6:8 So do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask Him.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Amazingly there was a “snake man” on the stage with a staff literally covered in snakes and some turtles all of which the children could touch, hold, & learn about.  Watching my 5 & almost 4 year old boys and my daughter fearlessly hold and handle these snakes made me stop and think.  They were actually enjoying themselves!  So after getting a little bit closer to the snakes and drilling the “snake man” with a million questions….I actually held ONE!  Maybe, just maybe they are not so bad after all.  I was completely reassured that the kinds of snakes we were looking at in no way could eat or harm my children!!!!!  It is not like the snakes will be mine or I would have to touch them….it was Sammy my Sam who diligently researched, studied, and learned ALL he could learn BEFORE asking for the snakes.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

This was an interest for him, a STRONG interest and he was willing to do the work needed.  Just because it wasn’t my interest or I didn’t like it does that mean I should just say NO, does it?  If this was encouraging him to learn I mean tenaciously learn wouldn’t I be denying him if I said  no! He wouldn’t have the chance to embrace and grow in something he truly is passionate about!  This kid is a snake encyclopedia, he knows all the colors, the morphs, the genetics, housing, feeding, breeding and much more I don’t even know about!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Though I would not have chose or even lead my son down this path I am so grateful I chose to see and support his desires that were benefiting him and others well!

1 Thessalonians 5:11   Therefore encourage one another and build up one another, just as you also are doing.

Do you see an interest, passion, or even a burning desire in your child?  Now, I challenge you whether it is something YOU like or not, what are you doing about it?

 

One Response to “Snakes, you are joking right?”

  1. YOU are such a good mommy!!!
    What a great testimony & encouragement.
    love & hugs!


Leave a Reply

